Tarot Cards – The Major Arcana

The Major Arcana, also called the Greater Arcana, reveals the inner mysteries of humanity. They tell the story of humanity in the form of 22 archetypal images, and each piece of the story reveals deep truths about the nature of existence as a human in this reality. Any form of magical practice like tarot and astrology has the Hermetic axiom, “as above, so below” as its basis which signifies that anything that happens in the spiritual world had its counterpart in the physical world. The Tarot deck is representing the entire universe. Individual cards within the deck represent a person, place or event. The Major Arcana cards are depicting such symbolism which carries more great secrets and the Minor Arcana carrying lesser mysteries. The Major Arcana represents influences of greater significance as they serve our journeys in life. These cards appear in important moments of life’s transition to signal distinctive periods of transformation. The 22 cards in the Major Arcana are numbered from 0-21 or 1-22. Occasionally, the Major Arcana starts with 0 (the Fool). The point with the Fool is that it begins the cycle and when that cycle ends, the Fool starts it up again; therefore, it exists on both extremes and earns its right to be both 0 and 22. Some decks will have a “Major Arcana” section with numbered cards 1-22 without these same card names. Worry not – the archetypes are still always the same in deeper meaning. Even with different names, card 1 from the Major Arcana will always represent what the Magician does; card 2 will always relate to the High Priestess’s energy, card 3 will always signify the Empress’s energy, and so on.

%d bloggers like this: